Germany announce World Cup Squad

Posted on May 8 2014 - 2:00pm by worldfootie


Joachim Low has announced his preliminary 30 man squad for World Cup 2014. Some old and new faces graced the list, with some key exclusions including Mario Gomez and Sidney Sam. Gomez, who has been heavily plagued with injuries all year, was always in doubt with players needing not only to be in great form but also match fit to make the cut.

Sidney Sam was another high profile player left out but his omission might have been due more to his recent form this season. Still he provides an eye for goal that is rivaled by few players and brings a dynamic that could help the squad.

Bayern München as expected have the most representation with 7 players joining the squad and Dortmund and Arsenal having 6 and 3 players respectively as well.

Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Roman Weidenfeller (Borussia Dortmund), Ron-Robert Zieler (Hannover).

Defenders: Jerome Boateng (Bayern Munich), Erik Durm, Kevin Grosskreutz (both Borussia Dortmund), Benedikt Howedes (Schalke), Mats Hummels (Borussia Dortmund), Marcell Jansen (Hamburg), Philipp Lahm (Bayern Munich), Per Mertesacker (Arsenal), Shkodran Mustafi (Sampdoria), Marcel Schmelzer (Borussia Dortmund).

Midfielders: Lars Bender (Bayer Leverkusen), Julian Draxler (Schalke), Mario Gotze (Bayern Munich), Leon Goretzka (Schalke), Andre Hahn (Augsburg), Sami Khedira (Real Madrid), Toni Kroos (Bayern Munich), Max Meyer (Schalke), Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich), Mesut Ozil (Arsenal), Marco Reus (Borussia Dortmund), Andre Schurrle (Chelsea), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Bayern Munich), Kevin Volland (Hoffenheim), Matthias Ginter (Freiburg).

Forwards: Lukas Podolski (Arsenal), Miroslav Klose (Lazio).

Leave A Response